Peter Tertzakian

Deputy Director
ARC Energy Research Institute

Energy Economist | Bestselling Author

Peter Tertzakian is an economist, investment strategist, author, podcaster, and dynamic public speaker. Using entertaining stories, he has a unique ability to distil, clarify, and communicate complicated issues surrounding energy, economics, and the environment. His presentations inspire, guide, and spark discussion on some of the most important topics of today.

A respected industry leader, Tertzakian is frequently called on to share his knowledge of strategic business issues with investors, corporate leaders, policy makers, and educators. His Energyphile project, including his latest book, The Investor Visit, and Other Stories: Disruption, Denial and Transition in the Energy Business, embodies his unique approach to analyzing today’s challenges. Tertzakian’s previous books — A Thousand Barrels a Second and The End of Energy Obesity — were both international bestsellers.

Tertzakian has more than 30 years of experience in the business of energy, spanning all systems, from oil and gas to renewables. His holistic knowledge of finance, physics, innovation, and economics forms a foundation for his unvarnished, balanced, and thought-provoking presentations on how audiences should think about sustainable energy solutions. In March 2021, he was appointed to the 14-member Net-Zero Advisory Body, an independent group from across the country that will provide the Government of Canada with advice on the best pathways to achieving net-zero emissions by 2050.

A graduate of MIT’s Sloan School of Management, Tertzakian is an adjunct professor at the University of Calgary and an Executive-in-Residence at the Ivey Energy Policy and Management Centre. His daily responsibilities are as Deputy Director of ARC Energy Research Institute.

Thursday October 14, 2021 | Montréal

Peter Tertzakian

Directeur adjoint
ARC Energy Research Institute

Économiste de l’énergie – Auteur de best-sellers

Peter Tertzakian est un économiste, un stratège en investissement, un auteur, un podcasteur et un conférencier dynamique. À l’aide d’histoires passionnantes, il possède une capacité unique à distiller, clarifier et communiquer des questions complexes concernant l’énergie, l’économie et l’environnement. Ses présentations inspirent, guident et suscitent la discussion sur certains des sujets d’actualité les plus importants.

Leader respecté du secteur de l’énergie, M. Tertzakian est fréquemment appelé à partager ses connaissances sur des questions de stratégie commerciale avec des investisseurs, des chefs d’entreprise, des décideurs, et des éducateurs. Son projet Energyphile, dont son dernier livre, The Investor Visit, and Other Stories : Disruption, Denial and Transition in the Energy Business, incarne son approche unique de l’analyse des défis actuels. Les livres précédents de Tertzakian – A Thousand Barrels a Second et The End of Energy Obesity – ont tous deux été des best-sellers internationaux.

M. Tertzakian possède plus de 30 ans d’expérience dans le domaine de l’énergie, tous systèmes confondus, du pétrole aux énergies renouvelables. Sa connaissance holistique de la finance, de la physique, de l’innovation et de l’économie constitue une base pour ses stimulantes présentations sur la façon dont les publics devraient penser aux solutions énergétiques durables. En mars 2021, il a été nommé au Conseil consultatif sur les émissions nettes zéro, un groupe indépendant composé de 14 membres provenant de tout le pays, qui conseillera le gouvernement du Canada sur les meilleurs moyens d’atteindre les émissions nettes zéro d’ici 2050.

Diplômé de la Sloan School of Management du MIT, M. Tertzakian est professeur auxiliaire à l’Université de Calgary et cadre en résidence au Ivey Energy Policy and Management Centre. Ses responsabilités quotidiennes sont celles de directeur adjoint de l’ARC Energy Research Institute.

Jeudi 14 octobre 2021 | Montréal